Enchilada Chicken Rollups


I made these recently as an assignment for a recipe club I belong to.     They sounded like something I could make and bring to the group I meet with most Friday nights.

I had to bake some chicken breasts anyway, so this seemed like a no-brainer to me.

My inspiration came from here  Rebekah’s Family Food and Fun blog.
I did adapt this just a smidge, but didn’t stray too far.   I upped the spices, cause I do like my spice,  and I had a shallot in the cupboard and wanted to add half of it to the recipe.

Recipe: 

1 large, boneless, skinless chicken breasts (can also use a cooked rotisserie chicken, make it easy on yourself)
1 (8 oz.) pkg. cream cheese, softened
1 cup shredded Colby Jack cheese, can also use any blend of cheese you like.
1 clove garlic, minced
2 tsp. chili powder (make it a quality chili powder, you can taste the difference)
1 tsp. cumin (recipe called for 1/2 tsp.)
¼ tsp. cayenne pepper
Salt, to taste ( I don’t add salt, there is enough in the Rotel)
Handful of cilantro, chopped  (I went out in my little garden and picked some fresh)

3 green onions, chopped
1/2 shallot, finely minced (I liked the color contrast)
10 oz. can diced tomatoes with green chiles, drained well (I used Rotel)
6-8 soft taco sized tortillas

Directions:

Bake some chicken breasts or roast a whole chicken or get a rotisserie chicken.  Chop up the equivalent of a large chicken breast, about 1 1/2 cups.

In the meantime, combine all the remaining ingredients except tortillas in a large mixing bowl.  Mix until well blended.  I used my Kitchen Aid.   (I knew a vegetarian friend would be joining us, so I took out enough of the filling for one tortilla before adding the chicken, so she could enjoy this as well)

Add the chicken to the filling mixture and stir well to incorporate.

Spread a thin layer of the filling mixture over a tortilla,

leaving a small border clear around the edge.  Roll the tortilla up tightly into a spiral.

Place the rolled up tortilla on a cutting board and use a sharp knife to cut into 1 to 1½-inch thick segments.  Transfer to a serving platter and serve chilled or at room temperature.

These disappeared in short order, and I think this is a recipe I will probably make again.
I keep most of the ingredients on hand anyway, gee who doesn’t keep a couple or three packages of cream cheese in their fridge?    Just kidding.
I will up the spice component a little more though, but for the most part I liked them.
Leave a Reply

