Tomato Gratin


I actually made this quite awhile ago, but never got around to posting about it.   Even though I made this with canned tomatoes, I think it could be adapted to use fresh tomatoes. And now with it being almost tomato season, I think it’s time to make this again, plus I think it’s a great take along for any summer potlucks.

So simple to make, and really, really tasty.    Basically three ingredients and you’re good to go.  I used Stewed Tomatoes with Celery and Onion, the No Salt Added kind,  a loaf of stale french bread, and some nice sharp Cheddar.

Pour about a tablespoon of EVOO in the bottom of a baking dish, or maybe a little more, whoops.

Add two cans of Stewed Tomatoes with Celery and Onion, don’t drain them.

The olive oil kinda pooled in the corner there, but don’t worry, it gets used.

Next add your cubed bread.   I used some French Bread, but I think this would be even better with some crusty artisan bread (which I don’t have access to here, unless I want to drive about 60 miles to the good grocery store or I could just use my own No-Knead bread).   Toss it together, and then don’t do like I did, and forget the nice chopped herbs, in my case some parsley and chives, on the counter. 

Sprinkle the fresh herbs on top of the tomato bread mixture and then sprinkle it all with some Grated Sharp Cheddar Cheese.   Bake at 375 degrees for about 20 minutes or so or until the cheese melts

Serve immediately or do as I did, put a piece of foil over top and then wrap it up and take it to a party.

It was very well received.   And I had a few requests for the recipe as well.   I think the next time I make this I will actually use a mixture of cheddar and monterey jack cheese, as I think the Monterey Jack cheese will melt into the tomato mixture a little better.
Here’s where I got the recipe.

Leave a Reply

