Herbs from my Garden…


I was loving the whole idea of being able to go outside and pick fresh herbs for the Herbie Chicken I did last week.

It felt wonderful, just knowing I had all those great flavours growing in my little backyard.

And when I say little backyard, I’m not kidding.  It’s all of 7 feet wide, and bricked.

But I have pots and pots and pots of stuff growing.   And when I went outside just now I realized that I don’t have a lot of flowers, most of my pots contain herbs.

Gee, I wonder what that says about me?   Apart from the fact that, most herbs like not being in direct sun to grow, and my backyard is a little shady.

I have a Meyer Lemon tree, in a pot, which produced a lot of lemons last year, but this year, it’s not doing too good.  But, it’s OK if it wants to take a year off from producing.  I’ll just keep feeding it, and watering it, and removing the little pesties that invaded it this year.

I also have some violets which I brought with me from our first house, many years ago.  I love how they smell when they bloom.  And you know, you can candy the violets if you want to.  In fact  there is even a liqueur made from violets.   I think I’m getting ideas here.

 

I have Rosemary, which I’ve managed to keep alive over the winter.

Dill, it was just a sprig when it started.

Chives

Parsley

Cilantro, which is just starting.  Cannot wait to use it.

GROW, GROW, GROW…

 

Mint, and one of the runners escaped and rooted in a pot with some lemon trees, but that’s OK, I think I see some Mojito’s in my near future.

 

Oregano

 

Thyme

 

Celery, grown from the base of the celery stalk.

 

And out in the front I have some Heirloom Tomatoes, Anaheim Peppers and more Parsley.  (The swallowtail caterpillars consider Parsley a treat, so I have to plant lots of it. in fact I think I need more.)

 

Just need to plant some Basil, maybe some Chervil, but that has to wait for fall, Chervil doesn’t like hot weather.

And I need some Sage, otherwise how can I sing?

Parsley, Sage, Rosemary and Thyme.

Get it?

Never mind, I need to go water something now.

 

 

Leave a Reply

