Zippy Dip


I was all set to make a really cool sounding crostini topping for NPA this week, but I got sidetracked or should I just say, distracted?   I decided to go through my clothes and switch from winter to summer stuff.  Or at least the ‘tween’ seasons’ clothes, and well, one thing led to another and …

Which meant that I didn’t make it into town to pick up a red onion or the scallions I wanted for the recipe I had planned on making.    So I looked around my kitchen and this is what I came up with.

 

To start with I had some plain Greek Yoghurt in the fridge, and thought that would make a good base for a dip.     I also had some mayo and some herbs that were hiding in the freezer.   Plus of course, garlic.  I had frozen some chopped herbs awhile ago for my Cauliflower with Herbs that I make a lot.   I find that I can chop up a bunch of herbs at one time and freeze them and that way I always have the makings for this dish on hand.

I added the frozen herb mixture, which is simply Parsley, Chives, Tarragon and Chervil to the yoghurt and mayo.  Whisked it together and tasted it.     I decided some garlic would go well with it, so I took a few very small cloves, and minced them up.  Added it to the dip and decided it was pretty darn good.

OK, so it was a little garlicky, but that’s a good thing.   Keeps the vampires away.

I also had some peppers, broccoli, carrots and celery in the fridge, so I just made a plate of them and that was it.

I have to say I liked loved this dip, in fact I ate a bunch of veggies with it before I even took it to NPA.

I didn’t even feel guilty.

After all I did leave some of the dip and most of the veggies…

Zippy Dip

6 oz Plain Greek Yoghurt
4 oz Mayonnaise
1 tablespoon fresh chopped herbs (parsley, chives, chervil and tarragon, mixed)
1-2 cloves finely minced garlic

Mix it all together and place in fridge for a couple of hours so the flavours can get acquainted and mellow out a smidgen.

Serve with a platter of fresh veggies.

I think this would also go well on a baked potato or as a dip for chips or gee, you could just eat it by the spoonful?

3 responses to “Zippy Dip

  1. What a lovely dip – and with all those vegetables it’s very healthy too.

Leave a Reply

