Ostestænger (Cheese Straws) og Ostemedaljer (Cheese Medallions)


I joined some friends for a little get together last Sunday   And was trying to think of what I could bring/make/share. I really didn’t want to run to town to get something special.    As it just so happened, I was looking through my copy of Danish Home Baking, by Karen Berg and found this recipe.   Simple, tasty and good.

A lot of the recipes in this book assume a certain level of expertise. Most recipes are baked in a moderate, fast or slow, or hot oven.   I’ve had very little difficulty in translating moderate, fast and slow to degrees, but will add the recommended temperatures here.

Oven 400-425 degrees  (depends on your oven)
Basic Recipe from the book
1 cup butter
1 2/3 cup flour
2 cups grated cheese, mild
pinch of paprika
pinch of salt
1 egg for brushing

Mix the grated cheese with the flour, salt and paprika.   Work in the butter.

Pat the dough into a rectangle and set aside to cool.   When cold, roll out to roughly 24 inches long by 5 inches wide.  Brush with egg and sprinkle with grated cheese.

Cut into approximately 50 straws.   Place on a greased cookie sheet.  Bake very pale golden.   On no account allow to get browned as they will then taste bitter.
I also made a roll of the dough and cut circles from it, the dough was so tender, I had to keep adding flour, and I thought, gee, cheese crackers, hmm, that might be fun too.   And I was running out of time to get them all baked and into the oven before I had to be there

So, I formed the dough into a roll and then just cut slices from it, and flattened them out just a little with my French Rolling Pin.

You can see the little bits of herb from the flavoured butter I used.   Do try this, it did add a lot to the flavour of the crackers.  In fact, next time I make them, I’m just going to add some fresh chopped garlic, parsley and whatever other herbs I have from the garden.   I’m thinking a touch of Rosemary would be awesome in these as well.
My changes:
I used a 1/4 cup of this herbed butter from Kerrygold instead of 1/4 cup of regular butter.  I keep a cube of this on hand when I want a little oomph from my butter.   A little goes a long way.  I use it a lot of different ways.

I also did not add any salt as I was already using salted butter.   I added a good 1/4 teaspoon of Cayenne powder and the cheese I used was a colby-jack cheese.    I baked one pan at 350 degrees, but it was not hot enough, and so the next pan was baked at 425 degrees.    It took about 15 minutes, to bake, but I did check after 10 minutes.

I liked them, but when I make them again, and I will, I am going to add a little more flour, maybe a little water, and make them less of a pie crust like cracker.   I think they would be better if they were a little more like a crisp cracker.

The feedback I got on these was positive, especially when they were crumbled into a bowl of home made baked beans.  Jon makes the best baked beans ever.   Had to plug them there.

Leave a Reply

