Baby Bok Choy with Bean Thread Noodles


I bought some baby Bok Choy last week when I went to the ‘big’ city.  I visited my favorite little oriental store and as I think I’ve told you before, this is where I pick up my fun veggies and spices and other necessities.
So last night I wanted something good for dinner.   I’ve not been cooking a lot lately, my partner has been under the weather so I’ve been ‘gasp’ zapping some Lean Cuisines for dinner.  Which are pretty good, but I wanted something better, something that was good to eat and quick last night.

I pulled three of the baby Bok Choy out of the fridge, cut them into eights, then sliced up some mushrooms and a half an onion.
sautéed the mushrooms and onions until the onions were translucent, added in the sliced up Bok Choy along with a couple of cubes of chicken stock and a couple of tablespoons soy sauce.   Put the lid and let it cook for a few minutes while I prepared the Bean Thread noodles by pouring boiling water over them and letting them sit for a few minutes..

Bean Thread noodles are a great thing to keep in the cupboard.   You can do so many things with them.   I

I drained the noodles and added them to the Bok Choy mixture, and then added a little more soy sauce, a tablespoon or so of Sesame Oil and stirred that in.

I decided at this point that it was ready to eat.   But when I tasted it, it was lacking something.  So I got out my Sriracha Sauce and added a good tablespoon or maybe it was just a long squirt of sauce to the bowl.   And that was the ticket.   It was so good.

It was then I got the idea, DANG!!!!  I should post this, it was a tasty dish, vegetarian and gluten-free.   Well, mostly vegetarian, but you could omit the chicken stock if you like and use a good vegetable stock.   And if you need meat with it, I don’t know why you couldn’t add some thinly sliced chicken to it as well.

Maybe I’ll try that tonight.   I still have some noodles left.     And there are still a couple of carrots in the bin that would probably taste really good with this as well, especially if I cut them into coins.

 

Leave a Reply

