Lime and Cilantro Rice


I used to go to a fast food place that served these massive burritos’ which included this wonderful rice.   I would order the rice just by itself, and inhale it.

100_7320

I got a craving for it this week, and decided to try my hand at making some.   And I think I got it, but of course I will probably tweak it a little more at a later date.  But for now, it’s close enough.   I liked the slight crunch that the onions gave it without them overpowering anything.

I just made enough for myself, so feel free to double or triple the amounts given here.

100_7324

1 cup cooked rice

1/2 teaspoon Lime Juice

1 tablespoon finely chopped cilantro

1/4 cup raw sweet onion, chopped

1 tablespoon Herdez Verde sauce

Mix all together and serve.   Really, really simple.    And I thought very tasty.

I think next time I will use just a little fresh lime zest, and maybe even a little chopped jalapeno.  I liked the little bit of kick from the Herdez, this is something I usually have on hand, although I bet you could use any kind of green tomatillo based sauce.

And since I have some lovely grilled chicken breasts in the freezer, some pinto beans in the cupboard begging to be turned into refried beans and the rice turned out so well, I think a nice big Mission style burrito is in my near future.
I’ll share that with you when I do make it.   Well, I’ll share the how-to’s and the recipe but not the burrito, that will be all mine.

 

Leave a Reply

