Sweet Wings


I made some wings, chicken wings that is, for Tapas last week and I have to say they didn’t turn out quite the way I thought they should, but they were still tasty.    At least I assume they were, cause most of them were eaten.

I’ve been craving a sweet/spicy/asian type wing the last little while.  So, I thought I would try making some.   I didn’t succeed getting the taste I was after, but hey, I can always try again.   But, the wings were eaten, and enjoyed.  I think I figured out what I am going to do differently the next time.

I used some Hoisin Sauce, Ken’s Asian Soy Ginger dressing, sesame seed oil, and some grated fresh ginger and then mixed in some blackberry/raspberry jelly.   I wanted some hot in there, and added a tablespoon of Tiger Sauce.   Mixed it all together  and heated it in a little and poured it over some baked chicken wings.

Tossed them around a little and then baked them for awhile, then basted them again with the sauce.  And let them bake a few more minutes.

Recipe:

1/4 cup Hoisin Sauce
1/4 cup Sesame Seed Oil
1/2 cup Ken’s Soy and Ginger Dressing
1/2 cup blackberry and raspberry jelly
1 tablespoon Tiger Sauce
1/2 teaspoon grated Ginger

Mix all together in a sauce pan, heat until the jelly melts, then pour over cooked wings, toss to coat evenly.   Place wings on well greased pan, and bake for 20 minutes at 375 degrees.   Baste wings with remaining sauce and bake an additional 10 minutes or so.   The exterior will get a deep brown laquered look and they will still be sticky and good.

I have to say the sauce, while good, was not what I wanted.  However, after all of this, I went into my fridge and spotted the Sweet Hot chile sauce, and I think if I’d added that to the mixture, it would have put it over the top.  If I do it again, I will add some of that.  gee, hmmm, maybe I will do that soon.   I still haven’t satisfied that craving.

2 responses to “Sweet Wings

  1. Those look awesome. I love the mix of flavors.

Leave a Reply

